KERPİC'2022 ABSTRACT, WORKSHOP TEAM LISTS

ABSTRACT E-BOOK  

01.jfif

Re-Thinking Earthen Architecture for Sustainable Development, VAN Field Project

Bilge Isık
Istanbul Technical University, Istanbul, Turkey
isik.bilge@gmail.com

02.jfif

Acclimatization across Millennia: Thermal Zoning with Stereotomic Systems

Tim Frank, RA, LEED AP 
Marietta, Georgia USA

tfrank2@kennesaw.edu 
timfrankarch@gmail.com

03.jfif

Contemporary Earth Construction in Turkey

Matthieu J. Pedergnana 
Architect, Atelier Metis Architects, France, 
Yasar Universıty/Turkey

matthieu@atelier-metis.com

04.jpg

Protecting the earthen heritage located in seismic areas

Marcial Blondet, PhD
Gerdis Research Group
Pontifical Catholic University of Peru, Peru

mblondet@pucp.edu.pe

05.jpg

3D Printer Based Adobe Architecture: Using of Aravena Model on Social Housing

Zafer Sagdıc
Yildiz Technical University, Istanbul, Turkey

zafersagdic@hotmail.com

06.jpg

Sustainable Usage of Earthen Materials as a Shelter for Homeless People in Palestine

Ayşe Pekrioğlu Balkis, Aya Ahmad
Cyprus International University, Lefkosa, North Cyprus 

apekrioglu@ciu.edu.tr

07.jpg

Half-Timbered – Adobe Material, Sustainability

Fatma Merve Ugur, Secil Satır
Fatih Sultan Mehmet Vakif University, Istanbul, Turkey

1fatmamerve.ugur@stu.edu.tr

08.jpg

Literature Review on Fiber Reinforced Adobe Materials

Merve Guneri, Filiz Umarogulları
Manisa Celal Bayar University, Manisa, Turkey
Trakya University, Edirne, Turkey 

merve.guneri@cbu.edu.tr
filizu@trakya.edu.tr

09.jpg

Ecological Architecture Approach in Permaculture Design

Seda Oztekin, Onur Aziz Oztekin
Halic University, Istanbul, Turkey

sedaoztekin@halic.edu.tr
onuroztekin@halic.edu.tr

10.png

Investigation of Façade Arrangements in Rural Architecture of Diyarbakır Province Erimli Neighborhood 

Sefika Ergin, Berfin Gokdemir, Ibrahim Halil Seker
Dicle University, Diyarbakır, Turkey

erginsefika@hotmail.com

11.jpg

Rural Heritage Values of Doğanbaba Village and Sustainable Development at Lake Salda

Uftade Muskara
Kocaeli University, Izmit, Turkey 

uftadem@gmail.com

12.jpg

Palanga Goat Shelter

Dilara Demiralp
M. Arch., Istanbul, Turkey

demiralp.dilara@gmail.com

13.png

From a Local to A Sustainable Building Technology; The Future of Adobe in North Cyprus

Bengi Atun
Istanbul Medipol University, Istanbul, Turkey

bengiatun@medipol.edu.tr

14.jpg

Application of Gis Technologies in the Field of Collection and Presentation of Historical Heritage Databases on Sample of Syunik Region Brickwork Structure

Shahen Shahinyan, Evlin Ordoukhanian
Republic of Armenia 

shahen_shahinyan@mail.ru 
ordoukhanian.evlin@gmail.com

15.jpg

A Method Proposal for the Preservation and Widespread Use of Mud Brick 

Gizem Kucak Toprak, Kevser Celtik Sahlan, 
Ostim Technical University, Ankara, Turkey

gizem.kucaktoprak@ostimteknik.edu.tr
kevser.celtiksahlan@ostimteknik.edu.tr

16.jpg

Consolidation a Mud-Brick Tomb against the earthquake: An Experience from Ardakan, Iran

Mohsen Fotouhi Ardekani, Alimohammad Ansarisadrabadi, 
Seyedhabibollah Dehghanifirouzabadi
University of Applied Science and Technology, 
Islamic Azad University, Yazd, Iran

alimohamad_ansari@yahoo.com

17.jpg

Examination of Earthen Building Material of Modern Architectural Examples

Hatice Tugce Tekin, Esma Mıhlayanlar
Trakya University, Edirne, Turkey 

httugcetekin@gmail.com
Trakya University, Edirne, Turkey 
emihlayanlar@trakya.edu.tr

18.png

Considering the Role of Local Building Craftsmen of Earthen Architecture for Sustainable Development 

Ozlem Karakul
Selçuk University, Konya, Turkey

karakulozlem@gmail.com

19.jpg

Bio-based reinforcements for rammed earth construction 

Giada Giuffrida, Rosa Caponetto
University of Catania, Catania, Italy

giada.giuffrida@unict.it

20.jpg

The Different Uses of Sustainable Soil Materials: The Examples of the Rüstem Pasha Caravanserai and the Hazrat Mevlana Tomb Restoration  

Alihan Keskin
Selcuk University, Konya, Turkey                                                            
 
alihankeskin@hotmail.com

21.jpg

Principles of Hassan Fathy’s architecture; Doctrines for Today 

Figen Beyhan, Fazıl Akdag
Erciyes University, Kayseri, Turkey

akdagfazil@gmail.com

1.fw.png

Use of Soil Material with Sound Absorbing Feature 

Derin Hilal Bilmez
Mimar Sinan University, Istanbul, Turkey

derinhilalb@gmail.com

23.png

The Roof Repair of a Boranhane  

Sefika Ergin, Berfin Aydınalp, Berhat Yakut 
Dicle University, Diyarbakır, Turkey

erginsefika@hotmail.com

1.fw.png

Building with Salt (the components, affect and technique) 

Rasha Elborgy
Fatih Sultan Mehmet Vakif University, Istanbul, Turkey

rasha.borgy@gmail.com

Full Paper
25.jpg

Comparison of Masonry Construction and Reinforced Concrete Systems with Cost-Benefit Analysis in the Process of Determining the Construction System of an Internship House Project

Esra Ozturk, Kutlug Savasır
Dokuz Eylul University, Izmir, Turkey

esra.ozt.94@gmail.com

26.jpg

Challenges of the Modern Earth Architecture Practices: Indian Scenario  

Poulomee Arun Ghosh, Noel Jerald Victor
National Institute of Construction 
Management and Research, Pune, India
CCBA Designs, Pune, India

pghosh@nicmar.ac.in

27.png

The Sustainability Effects of Choosing Adobe in Contemporary Buildings  

Penbegul Ozturk
Melikgazi, Kayseri, Turkey

penbegul.ozturk@stu.fsm.edu.tr

28.jpg

Masonry Construction Education with Workshops for Architecture Students: Cube-Sugar Instead of Stone, Glue Instead of Mortar  

Kutlug Savasır, Esra Ozturk
Dokuz Eylul University, Izmir, Turkey

kutlug.savasir@deu.edu.tr

29.png

Adobe windtowers in Iran

 Fatma Sedes, Nazlı Nejadi
Istanbul Aydin University, Istanbul, Turkey

fatmasedes@aydin.edu.tr, 
nazlin.n1989@gmail.com

30.jpg

Understanding the change in construction technology of traditional vernacular buildings of Dhulikhel 

Buddha Shrestha, Ramesh Adhikari, Santosh Chaudhary
Kathmandu University, Kathmandu, Nepal

buddha.shrestha@ku.edu.np 

31.jpg

Assessing the Criteria of Social Sustainability in the Historical Context of Yazd; Sahl-ebne-Ali Neighborhood

Fatemeh Sadat Goldansaz, Mohammad Hasan Talebian
Fereshteh Sadegheih, Seyyed Keyvan Goldansaz
Tehran University, Tehran, Iran
Imam Javad Educational Institute, Yazd, Iran 
Cultural Heritage Organization, Yazd, Iran 

fateme.goldansaz@ut.ac.ir

32.png

Typology of Traditional Houses with the Courtyard Element in Yazd

Fereshteh Sadegheih, Seyyed Keyvan Goldansaz, 
Fatemeh Mehdizadeh Saradj, Fatemeh Sadat Goldansaz 
Imam Javad Educational Institute, Yazd, Iran
Cultural Heritage Organization, Yazd, Iran 
Iran University of Science and Technology, Tehran, Iran
Tehran University, Tehran, Iran

f.sadeghie@iju.ir

33.jpg

A Critical Reading on Regionalism in Modern Earthen Architecture

Tuba Sarı
Bursa Technical University, Bursa, Turkey 

tuba.sari@btu.edu.tr

34.jpg

A Suggestion for the Achievement of the Sustainable

Ahmet Sadi Ardaturk
Istanbul Health and Technology University, Istanbul, Turkey

ahmet.ardaturk@istun.edu.tr

1.fw.png

Earth-based composites for 3D printing: numerical design and optimisation

Yasemin Hatipoglu, Burak Can Arslan, Ana Mafalda Matos, Mehmet Emiroglu
Fibrobeton Building Components Industry and Construction Inc., 
R&D Center, Duzce, Turkey
Duzce University, Duzce, Turkey
University of Porto, Portugal
Sakarya University, Sakarya, Turkey

mehmetemiroglu@sakarya.edu.tr

36.jpg

Data Mining for Adobe in Perspective of Sustainability and Management

Gizem Can, Elcin Filiz Tas, 
Istanbul Medipol University, Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul Technical University, Istanbul, Turkey

gizem.can@medipol.edu.tr
tase@itu.edu.tr

37.jpg

Structural Features and Conservation Problems of Traditional Adobe Houses in Erimli Village, Diyarbakır

Aysun F. Guner, Gulhan Benli,  
Pelin Karacar, Sefika Ergin 
Istanbul Medipol University, Istanbul, Turkey
Dicle University, Diyarbakır, Turkey

afguner@medipol.edu.tr, gbenli@medipol.edu.tr
pkaracar@medipol.edu.tr, erginsefika@hotmail.com

38.png

Advantages of Adobe Structures in the Design of Zero Energy Building 

Vijdan Aktas
Viart Yapı Mimarlık Sanayi ve Ticaret Ltd.Şti, Gaziantep, Turkey
vijdanaktas@gmail.com

39.jpg

Smart Technologies for the Formation of Landslide Slopes, Odessa 

Nadiia Yeksarova, Vladimir Yeksarov, Andrey Yeksarev
Odessa State Academy of Civil Engineering and Architecture, Odessa, Ukraine 

eksareva@gmail.com 

40.jpg

Drawing Connections to Archaeological Context: New Mudbrick / Kerpiç Designs for Tayinat / Kunulua on the Amuq Plain

Berk Kesim, Nilüfer Baturayoğlu Yöney, Elif Denel
Abdullah Gül University, Kayseri, Turkey
Mustafa Kemal University, Antakya, Turkey
American Research Institute, Ankara, Turkey    

berkesim@gmail.com, nilufer.yoney@gmail.com, elifdenel@gmail.com

41.png

A study on Risks of Earthen Architecture due to Climate Change  

Banu Gökçen Erdogan
Trakya University, Edirne, Turkey

banuerdogan@trakya.edu.tr

42.jpg

Designing a Sustainable Workflow for the Fabrication of Biologically Improved Rammed Earth Blocks  

R. Ozge Miskioglu, Fulya Akipek, Busra Akturk, Hatice Gulen, Tugrul Yazar, 
Muammer Ozbek, Birsen Cevher Keskin
Istanbul Bilgi University, Istanbul, Turkey, 
Istanbul Bilgi University, Istanbul, Turkey, 
Istinye University, Istanbul, Turkey, 
Tubitak-MAM, Kocaeli, Turkey

ozge.miskioglu@bilgiedu.net, fulya.akipek@bilgi.edu.tr , busra.akturk@bilgi.edu.tr, hatice.gulen@istinye.edu.tr, tugrul.yazar@bilgi.edu.tr, muammer.ozbek@bilgi.edu.tr,
birsen.keskin@tubitak.gov.tr

43.png

Testing and Conservation Actions in the Hittite Mud Bricks Fortification of Porsuk – Zeyve Hoyuk (Southern Cappadocia, Turkiye)  

Claire Barat (LARSH, UPHF, IFÉA) , Chamsia Sadozai (CRAterre), 
Jean-François Pichonneau (French Ministry of Culture, IFÉA) 
Université Polytechnique Hauts-de-France, France

claire.barat@uphf.fr, clairebarat33@yahoo.fr

44.jpg

The Place of Adobe in Turkish, American And New Mexico Regulation, Standards or Building Codes 

Selin Duran, S., Yesim K. Aktuglu, 
Dokuz Eylul University, Izmir, Turkey

selin.duran@ogr.deu.edu.tr, yesim.aktuglu@deu.edu.tr 

45.jpg

The Role of Women as a Carrier of Intangible Cultural Heritage in Earthen Architecture, Cıldıroba Village, Kilis Province 

Ayse Betül Sener
Yildiz Technical University, Istanbul, Turkey

ayse.sener@yildiz.edu.tr

46.jpg

Earth architecture cycles in Hadramaut, Yemen 

Tom Leiermann
Bremen, Germany / Shibam, Yemen 

tom.leiermann@gmx.de

47.jpg

The Relationship Between the Architectural Features and the Environment of Traditional Adobe Buildings in Elazıg Hussenig District 

Pelin Karacar, Aysun F. Guner, Gulhan Benli,  
Istanbul Medipol University, Istanbul, Turkey

pkaracar@medipol.edu.tr, afguner@medipol.edu.tr, gbenli@medipol.edu.tr

48.png

Evaluation of Adobe Materials in Rural Architecture in Kırklareli 

Izzet Yuksek, Funda Gencer
Manisa Celal Bayar University, Manisa, Turkey

izzet.yuksel@cbu.edu.tr 

49.jpg

Investigation of rural adobe houses for determining principles of earthquake-resistant designs 

Funda Gencer, Izzet Yuksek
Manisa Celal Bayar University, Manisa, Turkey

funda.gencer@cbu.edu.tr 

50.jpg

High Rise Adobe Building 

Seyhan Yardımlı, E. Sibel Hattap
Istanbul Okan University, Istanbul, Turkey
Mimar Sinan Fine Arts University, Istanbul, Turkey

seyhan.yardimli@okan.edu.tr,
sibel.hattap@msgsu.edu.tr

51.jpg

Preservation and Reuse of Traditional Rammed-Earth Houses, Floating Cloud Township Villa in Qinglongwu, China 

Didem Telli
Istanbul Aydın University, Istanbul, Turkey

didem.telli@outlook.com

52.jpg

Hasanlu Historical Hill (Hassanlu Tappe) an Earthen Heritage in the Mountainous Region 

Ozra Ranjbari, Sana Yazdani
Master of Conservation and Restoration of Cultural Heritage, Tehran, Iran
Shahid Beheshti Uni., Tehran, Iran, 
Polytechnic Uni. Milan, Italy

ozra.ranjbari@yahoo.com 
sa_yazdani@sbu.ac.ir

53.jpg

Determination of the mechanical and thermal properties of the Compressed Earth Block (BTC) reinforced with plant fibers, namely corn cob 

Ouro-Djobo Essoavana Samah, Soviwadan Drovou,
Ayaréma Afio, Komlan Assogba Kassegne
Centre Régional de Formation pour Entretien Routier, Lomé, Togo

odsamah@yahoo.fr

Full Paper
1.fw.png

Earthen Squinches as a Sustainable Element in Iranian Architecture

Elaheh Golzari, Péter Rabb
Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

elaheh.golzari@edu.bme.hu
Budapest University of Technology and Economics, Hungary

1.fw.png

Creating insulated building structures with Hemp and Earth. Why bio-based materials are essential for sustainable construction 

Thomas Adrian Woolley
Rachel Bevan Architects, Northern Ireland

56.jpg

Using Digital Fabrication Techniques with Earth-Based Building Materials 

Ismet Sayın, Buket Metin
Abdullah Gul University, Kayseri, Turkey
Abdullah Gul University, Kayseri, Turkey

ismet.sayin@agu.edu.tr

57.jpg

Reuse of Excavator Waste as Compressed Earth Block Construction Material  

Esra Tugalan, İbrahim Yenigun
Harran University, Sanliurfa, Turkey 
Harran University, Sanliurfa, Turkey

esratgln@gmail.com

58.jpg

Sabat is a stable and effective thermal element in the native architecture of hot and dry regions of Iran (a case study of Yazd) 

Fatemeh Mohammadi, Fatemeh Golvardi Yazdi
Yazd University

fatemeh77mhd@gmail.com 
f.golvardi73@gmail.com

1.fw.png

Earthen architecture and earthquake resistant techniques in Italy: A literature review

Maddalena Achenza, Amanda Rivera Vidal
Cagliary University, Cagliari, Italy

maddalena.achenza@unica.it, 
amandac.riveravidal@unica.it

60.jpg

Sustainable Architecture and Sustainable Building Elements 

Ozlem Atalan
Celal Bayar University, Manisa, Turkey

ozlem.atalan@cbu.edu.tr

61.png

Innovative Solutions in Soil Surface Architecture to Against Desertification

Bedriye Asımgil
Izmir Democracy University, Izmir, Turkey

bedriye.asimgil@idu.edu.tr

61.png

Earth Architecture as Sustainable Samples and Its Potential

Bedriye Asımgil
Izmir Democracy University, Izmir, Turkey

bedriye.asimgil@idu.edu.tr

63.jpg

Revealing the Potentials of Earthen Shell Design Using Form Finding Techniques

 Elif Yapıcı, Ozlem Tuz
Mersin University, Mersin, Turkey

elifyapici@mersin.edu.tr
ozlemtuz@mersin.edu.tr, ozlemtz@yahoo.com

64.jpg

Preservation of a Valuable Historical Adobe Building by Designing a Lightweight Structure in Yazd University

Fouzieh Zeinali, Nariman Farahza, Mohmmadhosein fsh Afsharipur
Yazd University, Yazd, Iran

zeinali.fouzieh67@gmail.com, narimanfarahza@gmail.com 
mhaf72@gmail.com

65.jpg

Feasibility of renewable energy systems in buildings without energy consumption, (Case Study: city Bafgh)

Fatemeh Malekzadeh Bafghi 
Islamıc Azad University, Yazd, Iran

fmlk62@yahoo.com

1.fw.png

Yard structure in Safavid and Qajar houses in the historic city of Yazd with a focus on climate change

 Mozhgan Pakcheshm
Yazd University, School of Art&Architecture, Yazd, Iran

mozhgan.pakcheshm@gmail.com

1.fw.png

Understanding the relation between social sustainability and the theories of Western and Islamic philosophers about religious functions (case study: Yazd city)

 Zahra Ahmadi, Mehdi Ghasemi, Seyed Hesam moddin Dehghan Manshadi
Kermanshah, Iran

miss_ahmadi71@yahoo.com, marchghasemi@gmail.com

68.jpg

Lifestyle in Modern Construction & Earthen Construction environments

İlhan Khalil
Girne American University TRNC, Mersin, Turkey ilhan@perfecttulip.com

abstracts.fw.png